Local Early Childhood System Building Coalitions

Since FY22, ECECD has funded fifteen coalitions across twelve New Mexico counties. By funding early childhood coalitions, ECECD aims to create more cohesive, equitable, and effective early childhood systems in New Mexico, which includes coordinating a continuum of family driven, community based high-quality prenatal-to-five programs and services that are available and accessible to all families in every corner of the state. 

Wave pattern

The coalitions work on initiatives that include:

  • Informing their communities about early childhood services and resources via coalition websites, newsletters, email blasts, meetings, newspaper, radio ads, etc. 
  • Increasing referrals to home visiting and other early childhood programs 
  • Improving access to healthcare services, including behavioral health 
  • Working with potential providers who may want to start a child care business  
  • Creating and distributing school readiness kits, and videos
  • Developing and coordinating after school programs 
  • Conducting First Aid and CPR trainings for community members  
  • Attending Town Council Meetings, County Commission Meetings, and other public meetings that may impact families and children to understand the issues and advocate for families.
  • Establishing local family leadership councils to provide families with opportunities to become stronger advocates for early childhood policy & program change   
  • And much more! 

Funded Coalitions:

County  Local Early Childhood System Building Grant Funded Coalitions Contact Website
Bernalillo  Bernalillo County Home Visiting Work Group Coalition 

Maria Elena Maestas 

maria.elena13@comcast.net 

Bernalillo County Home Visiting Work Group Coalition 
Bernalillo  Coalition for Science Learning in Early Childhood 

Victoria Roanhorse 

vroanhorse@explora.us 

Sarah McKinney 

smckinney@explora.us 

Coalition for Science Learning in Early Childhood  
Bernalillo  Early Childhood Coalition Cuidando Los Niños 

Marissa Brown 

marissab@clnabq.org 

Early Childhood Coalition Cuidando Los Niños 

 

Dona Ana  Doña Ana County Early Childhood Education Coalition 

Alejandra Montelongo 

alex@ngagenm.org 

Cindy Duran 

cindy@ngagenm.org 

Doña Ana County Early Childhood Education Coalition 

 

Dona Ana  Proveedoras Unidas de Southern NM 

Maria Granados 

mariagproveedorasunidas@yahoo.com 

 
Grant  Community Partnership for Children 

Kalah Carrasco 

CPC@grantcountycpc.com 

Community Partnership for Children  
Guadalupe  Nuestros Ninos De Guadalupe Early Childhood Coalition 

Melanie Saiz  

Megan Quintana 

NNDG.ECC@gmail.com 

 
Lincoln  Partners in Early Childhood Education Coalition 

Lauren Swangstu 

Lauren.swangstu@regionix.org 

Partners in Early Childhood Education Coalition 
McKinley  McKinley County Early Childhood Coalition 

Colleen Roan 

mceccgroup21@gmail.com 

McKinley County Early Childhood Coalition  

 

Rio Arriba  Rio Arriba County Early Childhood Collaborative 

RJ Martinez 

RJ@lanlfoundation.org 

 
San Juan  San Juan County Early Childhood Coalition 

Rita McGrath 

rita.sjcecc@gmail.com 

Kristen Santesson 

director@fundamentalscdc.com  

Selece Gathings 

selece@sjcecc.org 

San Juan County Early Childhood Coalition 
San Miguel  San Miguel Early Childhood Coalition 

Masie Estep 

sanmiguelecccoordinator@gmail.com 

 
Santa Fe  Santa Fe Early Childhood Steering Committee 

Maia Cortissoz 

maiac@growingupnm.org 

Jennifer Salinas 

jennifers@growingupnm.org 

Evelyn Caro 

evelync@growingupnm.org 

 
Taos  Paso a Paso Network 

Miles Bonny 

coordinator@pasotaos.org 

Suzie Baca-Chavez 

familia@pasotaos.org 

Paso a Paso Network 
Valencia  Valencia County Early Childhood Community Partnership 

Andrea Romero 

andrea@lvfnm.org